top of page
  • Writer's pictureForum Jean Bessière

8-10 octobre 2015: participation au Colloque "Literary Transnationalism(s)"

Jean Bessière participera au colloque organisé à l'occasion du départ à la retraite du professeur Theo D'haen (KULeuven). Ce colloque se tiendra à l'Université de Leuven, du 8 au 10 octobre 2015. Vous pouvez lire ci-dessous l'argumentaire du colloque.

On the occasion of the retirement of Theo D’haen from the University of Leuven, the Research Group “Literature, Discourse, and Identity” in October 2015, 8-10, organizes an international symposion on “Literary Transnationalism(s),” in line with the scholarly interests of D’haen throughout his career.

In recent approaches to literary studies we notice a turning away from an (almost) exclusive attention to national literatures in favor of a variety of "transnational" approaches. One may here think of world literature and geocriticism, but also of the so-called "-phone" studies, i.e. anglophone, francophone, hispanophone, or lusophone, but increasingly also sinophone and other linguistically-inspired categories, often from a postcolonial perspective, in the case of literatures in European languages, but sometimes also from an "imperial" point of view, as has sometimes been argued with respect, precisely, to sinophone developments. But it is equally possible to consider not necessarily linguistically but rather culturally, historically, or geographically related areas such as "Europe," the Americas (often now referred to as "hemispheric America"), the Caribbean or the Mediterranean, the Atlantic or the Pacific Rim, the Indian Ocean, or the Silk Road. There is room for both synchronic and diachronic reflections on any or all of these approaches.

The conference will bring together a number of leading international theoreticians, critics and literary historians of (a number of) the various developments sketched under the "theme of the conference": David Damrosch (Harvard), Djelal Kadir (PennState), Longxi Zhang (Hongkong), Svend Erik Larsen (Aarhus), Hans Bertens (Utrecht, President ICLA), Ottmar Ette (Potsdam), César Domínguez (Santiago de Compostela), Jean Bessière (Sorbonne), and several others have already confirmed their participation.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page